Time To Get Creative!

Here I am again sitting up way past my bedtime, caught up in yet another project of mine that takes precious time away from the things I should be doing- like going through pictures from this christmas, writing a few blog posts and a whole lot of less fun stuff like sorting through all the stuff I have stored in the attic here in my mother’s house. When I get the itch to be creative and do something crafty with my hands all other things will just have to wait, and yesterday I did get the urge so now I’m stuck with a huge project for the next week or so.

I decided I wanted to learn how to crochet. It is not some new thought, I’ve been thinking for a very long time that I would like to know how to knit or crochet, there are so many nice handmade things for sale on the web, and so many of my friends and acquaintances are really good at knitting sweaters and all sorts of stuff so I always see their kids dressed from head to toe in super cute outfits and with beautifully knitted baby blankets. Now I will be making my own… maybe not exactly sweaters and difficult stuff, but a baby blanket I should be able to produce!

I went online and searched different blogs for inspiration and clear instructions on how to knit a grandmother blanket, you know one of those blankets that look like they are made up out of a whole lot of crocheted patches in different colours. Well in the end I found a few very good videos on You Tube, so I sat down last night and made the first patch. Now I’m hooked. I made another six patches today, and in every spare moment I had (when Nicholas was sleeping, and when my brother was playing with him) I took out my crocheting needle. So far so good. I’m going to use the eight patches I’ve made so far for something or another, and tomorrow I’m going to the store to buy some good quality merino yarn in some nice colours so I can start on the patches I’m going to use for a baby blanket that will look both cute and be nice and warm for when the new little girl is borne!

here are three of the patches I made today, sorry about the terrible picture, I just took it with the photo booth application on the mac..I couldn’t be bothered to get my camera out!

My greek grandmother, yaya, used to always have a crocheting project going, she has made countless tablecloths, pillowcases and similar items over the years. I remember when she used to stay with us in Norway for a month or so at the time back when I was little. She would sit there in a chair with her crocheting needle and some big tablecloth draped over her lap. I have looked at the things she made many a time and thought to myself that they were beautiful. After trying my hand at it myself I must admit my lever of appreciation for the tablecloths she has made for me just sky-rocketed. Oh my gosh she’s good.

Take this little Barbie skirt she just threw together for me in an afternoon, I picked it off a Barbie that Nicholas was playing with earlier and actually looked at it. It’s crocheted with a thread as thin as the one you use for sowing, and a needle that can’t have been much bigger than a sowing needle either. It would have taken me years, if not forever to even finish half of it.. To put it this way, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to make something as difficult as that skirt and she has made freaking table-cloth after table-cloth..

Enough rambling. I’m off to bed, and I will be back tomorrow with some highly overdue christmas photos!

Good Night!

xx

P.S If any of you readers have links to some good crocheting or knitting blogs let me know! 
This entry was posted in Crafts, Ramblings About Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time To Get Creative!

  1. Pingback: Time To Get Creative! | Dag Til Dag | Grandma Network

Leave a Reply

